Symphony CLOSER. No.8 by Beethoven

20/04/2023    19:00
Concert Hall GREAT AMBER, Great Hall, Liepāja

Ludwig van Beethoven's Symphony No.8 is one of the most beautiful symphonies of the 19th century.

Orests Silabriedis, the host of the “Symphony CLOSER concert series, says: “It is commonly believed that Beethoven's odd symphonies like No.3, No.5, No.7, No.9 are the most significant ones. However, to my subjective liking, No.4 and No.8 are the most attractive ones, and I know that I am not the only one who thinks so. The vitality, the slightly indecent briskness of Symphony No.8, the graceful dance of the second movement, the tenderness of the minuet and the vigour of the finale in unison create an exciting scenery, which is a nice place to be in. Accompanied by the Liepāja Symphony Orchestra, Atvars Lakstīgala has so far successfully conducted all Beethoven symphonies, except for Symphony No.8. Finally this gap will be filled.”

Ludwig van Beethoven is described as the last titan of the “Viennese classics”. He created 240 musical compositions, nine of which are finished symphonies, five piano concertos, 18 pieces for string quartet, and also one completed opera “Fidelio”. Modern researchers believe that Beethoven practically has reinvented the symphony genre.

The concert series “Symphony CLOSER” created by the Liepāja Symphony Orchestra was created to introduce the audience to the cornerstones of the world symphonic repertoire – beautiful, classical symphonies that everyone should know.

The concert “Symphony CLOSER. No.8 by Beethoven” and discussion will begin with the welcome speech given by the music reviewer Orests Silabriedis, revealing the context of the time when the symphony was created and the structural specifics of the masterpiece. After the concert guests will be encouraged to engage in an informal conversation with the conductor Atvars Lakstīgala.

In 2021 the Liepāja Symphony Orchestra was nominated for the Grand Music Award for the series of online concerts “Symphony CLOSER. This time, music lovers will have the chance to get to know the symphony in person.


Orests Silabriedis

Liepāja Symphony Orchestra


Atvars Lakstīgala


Ludwig van BEETHOVEN (1770–1827) Symphony No.8 in F Major, Op. 93

The Concert is supported by the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Latvia and Liepāja City.

Tickets are available here