Brahms. Wagner. Bruckner

26/10/2024    18.00
Concert Hall GREAT AMBER, Great Hall, Liepāja

Three of the most significant composers of the second half of the 19th century, whose music is characterized by rich harmonies, complex melodies and strong emotions and who have significantly influenced the further development of symphonic music – Johannes Brahms, Richard Wagner and Anton Bruckner, will come together in one concert.

Andris Poga will take the place at the Liepāja Symphony Orchestra conductor's desk, while the special guest of the concert will be the Finnish soprano Miina-Liisa Värelä.

Richard Wagner's works, especially his later compositions, are distinguished by their complex textures, rich harmonies and orchestration, and the sophisticated use of leitmotifs – musical phrases associated with particular characters, places, ideas, or plot elements. His musical language has greatly influenced the development of classical music, and Wagner's Wesendonck Songs are considered one of Wagner's most significant vocal works and are loved both among singers and listeners. 

The five song cycle created in 1841 with the poems by Mathilde Wesendonck is made maintaining the romantic style and reflects themes such as love, longing and the beauty of nature. The songs are notable for expressive melodies, rich harmony and gorgeous orchestrations.  

Johannes Brahms is another notable symphonist of the 19th century. His music is characterized by melodiousness, rich harmony and deep emotions, as well as respect for classical traditions, while incorporating innovative trends of the Romantic era. Brahms's Tragic Overture is created in a dramatic and tumultuous style. The overture is characterized by dark and mysterious harmonies and reflects the struggle between good and evil, light and darkness, and the inevitability of human destiny.

The concert programme will culminate in the works by the Austrian composer Anton Bruckner, whose symphonies are known as a symbol of the last stage of romantic music due to their majestic lines and magnificent harmonies. The rarely performed “Die Nullte” symphony is an autumn-colored masterpiece that takes us to the world of real illusions.

Miina-Liisa VÄRELÄ (soprano)

Liepāja Symphony Orchestra
Conductor Andris POGA

Johannes BRAHMS (1833-1897) The Tragic Overture
Richard WAGNER
(1813-1883) Wesendonck Songs
(1824-1896) Symphony D minor (“Die Nullte”)

The Concert is supported by the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Latvia and Liepāja City. 



Pupils, students, disabled persons, pensioners – 3 euros
3+ family card holders – 30%
Teachers, lecturers and medical workers – 20%

Groups (10 or more people) – 20%
When purchasing group tickets online, please send an e-mail to sales@lso.lv

When attending the concert, the visitor must present a document certifying their eligibility to a discount.

Tickets are available here

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
  • 24
  • 25
  • 26
  • 27
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30