Andrejs Osokins.Liepāja Symphony Orchestra

03/12/2022    18:00
Concert Hall GREAT AMBER, Great Hall, Liepāja

Andrejs Osokins, the winner of the Grand Music Award of 2008, has won many awards at the world’s most prominent piano competitions, including the Arthur Rubinstein International Piano Master Competition in Tel Aviv, the Long-Thibaud International Competition in Paris, the Leeds International Piano Competition and the Queen Elisabeth International Piano Competition in Brussels. According to critics, the pianist has “a mesmerizing appeal to his personality, a wide and expressive palette of sound colours, and an unusually convincing sense of different styles of music.” 

In cooperation with the Liepāja Symphony Orchestra under the direction of the chief conductor Guntis Kuzma, at the Concert Hall “Great Amber” Mr.Osokins will play a solo in the Piano Concerto No.1 by Johannes Brahms. 

The composition was created in the composer's early youthhood, when, while still admiring the classic Ludwig van Beethoven, Brahms was fascinated by the technical search and the inclusion of complex techniques in the piano part, but at the same time still retained the basic structures and details of classicism. 

The concert programme also includes Antonín Dvořák's Symphony No.8 in G Major, for making of which the composer derived inspiration from the folk music of his native Bohemia, the western part of modern Czech Republic.

Andrejs Osokins

Liepāja Symphony Orchestra
Conductor Guntis Kuzma

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897): Piano Concerto No.1 in D minor, Op.15
Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904): Symphony No.8 in G Major, Op.88

Tickets are available here