The "Liepāja Summer" Festival. Šimkus, Petrauskis and Liepāja Symphony Orchestra

05/08/2022    19:00
Concert Garden “Pūt, vējiņi!”

For many decades in Liepāja, on the open-air stage of Jūrmala Park, on warm summer days Liepāja residents and health resort visitors with their families would enjoy symphonic music concerts. Back in 1783, this initiative was started by Peter von Biron, the Duke of Courland.

This year, after a pause of several years, the “Liepāja Summer” Festival is coming back to the park, to the newly renovated Concert Garden “Pūt, vējiņi!”, where during three concerts the audience will be offered a great amount of different genres, styles and eras, so everyone will be able to find something they like.

On 5 August, at the second of the three concerts of the “Liepāja Summer” Festival, for the first time in the renovated Concert Garden the audience will be offered an opportunity to enjoy a summer symphonic music programme, where compositions by George Gershwin, Leonard Bernstein and Maurice Ravel will be performed.

At the Liepāja Symphony Orchestra conductor’s desk – Guntis Kuzma, who will become the chief conductor of our Orchestra this Autumn.

In turn, the pianist Vestards Šimkus as the soloist in cooperation with the Liepāja Symphony Orchestra will perform the piano concert by the American composer George Gershwin.

Vestards Šimkus – piano
Oskars Petrauskis – saxophone

Liepāja Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Guntis Kuzma

Leonard Bernstein, overture of the operetta "Candid"
George Gershwin, Piano Concerto
Arturo Markess, Danzon no.2
John Williams, "Catch me if you can" saxophone concert
Morris Ravel, Bolero

This event is intended for adult audience. Children under the age of 7 may not be admitted to adult events.

Pupils, students, disabled persons, pensioners – 2 euros
3+ family card holders – 30%
For groups (10 or more people) – 15%

When attending the concert, the visitor must present a document certifying their eligibility to a discount.

Tickets are available here