17/11/2023    19.00
Concert Hall GREAT AMBER, Great Hall, Liepāja

We will celebrate the 105th anniversary of Latvia together with the Liepāja Symphony Orchestra and pianist Andrejs Osokins, who, under the leadership of conductor Jānis Liepiņš, will proudly explore the work of several authors of Latvian music, all so wonderful and different in their artistic expression. Truly brilliant, yet rarely performed pieces by masters of symphony music Ādolfs Skulte and Jānis Ivanovs will be performed among the spectrum of noteworthy composers in the program. An original piece by contemporary composer Zigmars Liepiņš, who grew up in Liepāja, will be a special treat of the concert, as it was composed specifically for this occasion.

The concert will be opened by Symphony No. 9 by virtuoso of orchestraic colors Ādolfs Skulte. The composition was created during the National Awakening and is considered the monumental zenith of the composer’s body of work. The author himself dubbed it The Dramatic. At the moment of its creation, the Symphony was widely regarded as important – contemporaries appreciated the vigor of the music in the context of the changes happening during the historical period, and it is relevant for modern listeners as well.

Jānis Ivanovs is a pillar of Latvian music. His 1957 symphonic poem ‘Lāčplēsis’ was created inspired by the motifs of Rainis’ play ‘Uguns un nakts’. In its beginning, we can hear the powerful theme of the titular character, followed by a tender representation of Spīdola, we also meet the gently radiant Laimdota as well as the raven like Black Knight, and each of them are given the opportunity to shape their own narrative. Audiences have not had many chances to hear this piece, and the celebratory concert will be a perfect occasion.

A brilliant gift for the celebration will be the premiere of Zigmars Liepiņš’ Piano Concerto with Andrejs Osokins as the soloist. This three-part original piece will combine core values of a classical piano concert with the composer’s unique signature style. We will experience humorous interactions between the orchestra and the soloist, a beautifully melodic line in the second part, and a brilliant piano solo. 

Ādolfs Skulte. Symphony No. 9

Jānis Ivanovs. Symphonic Poem ‘Lāčplēsis’ 
Zigmars Liepiņš. Piano Concerto 

Liepāja Symphony Orchestra
Jānis Liepiņš, conductor
Andrejs Osokins, piano

Organised by Liepāja Concert Hall "Lielais dzintars".

Tickets are available here